Angus glens

You are here: Home>Discover>Angus Glens

Truly Magnificent Scenery

Enjoy beautiful scenery of the rolling hills in the Angus glens, explore the area by bike, wonderful views, peaceful surroundings and nice good walks, many things to do!

  • Angus is located on the east coast of Scotland and is one of the 32 local government council areas of Scotland, a registration county and a lieutenancy area.
  • Angus boasts a varied landscape of expansive mountains, valleys and glens, to prime agricultural and land and historic towns and villages along a varied North Sea coastline.
  • The council area borders Aberdeenshire, Dundee City and Perth and Kinross. Main industries include agriculture and fishing. Global pharmaceuticals company GSK has a significant presence in Montrose in the north of the county.
Glen Esk: The Angus Glens are a truly magical part of Scotland

Angus, Scotland’s birthplace

Angus is marketed as the birthplace of Scotland. The signing of the Declaration of Arbroath at Arbroath Abbey in 1320 marked Scotland’s establishment as an independent nation. It is an area of rich history from Pictish times onwards.

Angus Towns

There are seven towns in Angus each with its own unique character and attractions

  • Arbroath, the largest town
  • Brechin
  • Carnoustie
  • Forfar, the county town and administrative centre
  • Kirriemuir
  • Monifieth
  • Montrose

Angus Villas

With its mix of glens, fertile valleys, rugged coastline and historic towns and villages, Angus is an area of outstanding natural beauty

  • Aberlemno, Arbilot, Auchmithie, Armillye
  • Birkhill, Bridge of Craigisla
  • Dunnichen
  • East Haven, Edzell, Edzell Woods,
  • Farnell, Friockheim, Finavon
  • Glamis, Guthrie
  • Inverkeilor, Hillside
  • Kingsmuir, Letham, Liff
  • Newbigging, Newtyl, Noranside 
  • Memus, Menmuir, Monikie, Muirhead, Murroes
  •  St Vigeans, Tannadice, Tarfside, Tealing, Unthank


The five Glens of Angus

They are the five Highland glens located in the western portion of the Angus region of Scotland.

Angus is penetrated by a series of glens of varied character – the Angus Glens. Glen Clova is the best known, steep-sided and majestic, whilst Glen Esk in the east is long and enchanting. To the west are Glen Prosen and Glen Isla – less visited perhaps but equally deserving of exploration on foot.

The five glens from westernmost to easternmost are:

  • Glen Isla
  • Glen Prosen
  • Glen Clova
  • Glen Lethnot
  • Glen Esk
Glen Mark

Other glens in Angus

Glen Mark is a glen in northern Angus, eastern Scotland, through which the Water of Mark flows, and joined by Glen Lee forms Glen Esk. Near the mouth of the glen, at Auchronie, the Water of Mark is joined by the Water of Lee from Loch Lee to become the River North Esk. This flows through Glen Esk, one of the Five Glens of Angus. The land is managed by the Dalhousie estate.

Glen Mark provides the southern walking route to Mount Keen. Starting at the House of Mark, walkers follow the glen to the Glenmark Cottage where the path rises along the northern slopes of the glen, past the peak of Couternach and climbs further to Mount Keen.

Find us

Discover More

House of Mark is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The house is a great base from which to explore the glens. There is plenty to see and do nearby, including mount Keen, Loch Lee, and Queens Well.